Buffy versus Edward?

November 10, 2010

Seems like this video has been around for quite a while now, but I’ve just seen it today. Besides being cool and very well-done, the video raises the question of Edward’s behavior: Is it romantic, or is it stalking?

Upfront, full disclosure: I haven’t actually seen or read any of the Twilight movies/books (I know, I know). Also, I didn’t see the 1992 Buffy the Vampire Slayer movie. Lastly, I don’t believe I’ve ever actually seen an entire episode of Buffy on TV, either, or any other Buffy stuff.

Surprisingly, what struck me most as I watched this remix was a sharp pang of disappointment that I’d never watched Buffy. I had just graduated from high school when this movie came out, and was preparing to go away to college.

I don’t know if the character depicted in the movie has the same confidence, strength, and self-assuredness as the bad-ass woman depicted in this remix of the TV show. If she does, then in retrospect, I would have made this film “required viewing” prior to leaving for school.

Prior to adulthood, I don’t recall ever having seen behavior like hers convincingly modeled or practiced by a woman: Buffy says, “No,” firmly and tells Edward (or whoever, in the actual episodes) to leave her in peace–without any trace of fear about the consequences of that action. I wish I would have learned how to do that much earlier in my life. Every little girl should learn that she can say “no” when she finds herself in an uncomfortable situation, no matter if she has to say it to a romantic interest or a teacher or a pastor or her friend’s father.

Quick post-script: Is Edward this creepy throughout the movies? I’m hoping the video artist just selected the ickiest bits, but based on the behavior displayed in this remix, I would hate to see my daughter or niece breathily idealizing this guy’s behavior as “sooooo romantic!!!” Yikes. Your thoughts?

via Sociological Images

Leave a Reply

