Conversation with an ibex – que super risaaaa

August 18, 2010

Recently, I found out about Amazon’s book trade-in program, and decided it was high time for me to look over my bulging bookshelves for suitable candidates. I found one book in particular that I was willing to part with that Amazon told me was worth $30. $30! I was delighted, since the only other plan I’d hatched about thinning my books involved just giving darn things away to our local Goodwill.

I flipped through the books in the “yes” pile to ensure there were no hidden flowers, notes, pieces of lizard skin or dollar bills tucked neatly between the pages, and suddenly, I noticed the unthinkable.

In my $30 book, a textbook I’d used during my Masters work, I’d written in the book itself. Gasp! I had defaced a book, but was quickly relieved to see that my crime appeared to be erasable. Somehow, I had had the foresight to scribble on those $30 pages in pencil. “No problem,” I thought. “I’ll just erase all the evidence.”

I dug out one of those long clicky erasers, and got to work. Sadly, three hours later, I found that I’d grossly underestimated the staying power of the humble pencil lead. My deltoid, exhausted…My lungs, full of eraser bits. I won’t even tell you what the carpet looked like.

The only upshot (besides hopefully guaranteeing the receipt of my entire $30!) is that I saw a few minutes of Jimmy Fallon, and he showed a piece of this video: The funniest thing I’ve seen in MONTHS. I haven’ t stopped laughing since! Enjoy!

2 Responses to “Conversation with an ibex – que super risaaaa”

  1. Heather Says:

    Oh no!!! Maybe you need to visit an art store to find an eraser. There is one that is maybe $0.99 and “self cleaning” that works like magic!


Leave a Reply

