“I ain’t never been no diabetic!”

February 27, 2010

Last week, my dad had a heart attack and had emergency quadruple bypass surgery. It was a stressful week even though I’m far away, or maybe especially because of that-it was a challenge to find information by phone and a larger challenge to find a way to communicate with my dad regarding the importance of complying with the rules and recommendations the doctors have given him: no smoking, no tacos from Jack-in-the-Box, get some exercise, eat your vegetables, etc. At some point he mentioned that the doctors had told him he couldn’t have any sugar in his coffee (he’s a two-sugars guy). This seemed unusual for a cardiac health-related diet, so I pressed him for details.

He replied, “Those doctors told me I was a diabetic! And I told them, ‘I ain’t never been no diabetic!’ I can have all the sugar in my coffee I want! They don’t know what they are talking about!

Oh, you mean those same doctors that just saved your life? They don’t know what they’re talking about? Oy.

Worse still, my dad commented later, “Some of the doctors are worried about me living alone, that I’ll be by myself when I get home from the hospital. But I told them, I’m not gonna be by myself–Jacob will be there.”

Folks, Jacob is his 6-month old grandson. [sigh…]

Leave a Reply

