Brussels sprouts for dinner

February 27, 2010

I always use brussels sprouts to illustrate how much easier it is to cook for just yourself than to worry about the eating preferences of other people.

When I was single, if I wanted to eat just brussels sprouts for dinner, I could!” I’ve been known to say, nodding curtly and stamping my foot for emphasis. And on many occasions, in my single days, I actually did just that.

Since F is out of town this weekend, and I felt inspired by my dad’s recent heart attack to eat something healthy, I did it again! I love the blackened crispy bits the most – delicious and nutritious!

4 Responses to “Brussels sprouts for dinner”

  1. 5kidswdisabilities Says:

    I always HATED brussel sprouts, but the way you prepare them actually looks good!
    Lindsey Petersen
    http://5kidswdisabilities.wordpress.com

    • shawncita Says:

      Hi Lindsey! Thanks for reading – Indeed, you should give those sprouts a second chance! 🙂 They are soooo easy, too: Trim the ends and remove the outer leaves if needed, toss in olive oil with kosher salt and any herbs you like (I used red pepper flakes and tarragon on those little guys), and put in a hot oven (425-450) for 30-45 minutes, stirring halfway through. What I said about the charred bits? WAY worth the wait! I’d love to hear back if you try them – P.S. you can try the same method for cauliflower (although it may cook a little less time) – it’s delish!

  2. Heather Says:

    Yum! That looks good! I actually like them a lot when they’re coated in cheese. mmm.

    The day you posted this, another blog I follow posted a recipe as well! I thought maybe you’d be interested

    http://www.loveandoliveoil.com/2010/02/brussels-sprouts-with-prosciutto-and-pecans-and-meet-my-adopt-a-blogger.html

    • shawncita Says:

      I just found your comment, and I think i didn’t reply yet (crazy week!!)…I’m totally trying this recipe sometime soon! Thanks for sharing!


Leave a Reply

