Amazing post-Zumba miso soup

February 17, 2010

Feast your eyes, folks – quick, easy, delicious, AND nutritious!

By the time I arrived home from the gym, I still hadn’t stopped sweating. I needed to eat something and to hydrate, so I did what any gal dining solo would have done in my place – I whipped up a miracle supper in (no kidding) about 8 minutes flat!

1. Fill the electric tea kettle and turn on to begin heating.
2. Put around a tablespoon of dried wakame seaweed into cold water to re-hydrate.
3. Dice 1/2 a shallot (or could use onion), two cloves of garlic, and a thumb-sized piece of (peeled) ginger.
4. Finely slice 1/2 a carrot.
4. Put a small saucepan on the stove and heat about a tablespoon of oil. Once hot, stir in the veggies and cook for about 1-2 minutes.
5. Water should be hot by now, pour about 2 cups in with the veggies and bring to a simmer.
6. Stir in 1-2 tbsp of miso paste (I used red).
7. Stir in 1-2 tbsp of nut butter (I used sunflower seed).
8. Simmer for another minute or so. Stir rapidly.
9. Crack an egg into the soup while the water is still spinning around, tornado style.
10. Squeeze out the seaweed to drain, and add to your soup.

Enjoy! Delicious and nutritious!
And add some red chile flakes if you like – I forgot them in my haste to eat…

4 Responses to “Amazing post-Zumba miso soup”

  1. Heather Says:

    Mmmm this looks delicious!!

    • shawncita Says:

      Let me know what you think if you try it – I thought it really hit the spot!! Do you have a Trader Joe’s in your area?

      • Heather Says:

        yup! Did you get most of the ingredients there?

      • shawncita Says:

        Not all of them – the sunflower seed butter (soooo yummy, esp w/ banana and honey!) and veggies of course. I think they sell the miso paste as well, although this particular container I bought in the Asian market where I bought the wakame…i heart Trader Joes!


Leave a Reply

