A cheat sheet for bad spellers

January 12, 2010

I actually spell pretty well, but I am nevertheless TOTALLY planning to buy this in poster format. Have a peek at three good reasons (plus a bonus barfing-panda reason!) why I would like to adorn my office with this awesomeness:

And, the barfing-panda bonus:

via Neatorama on The Oatmeal

2 Responses to “A cheat sheet for bad spellers”

  1. uninvoked Says:

    but there is no poster for effect/affect x.x and that’s what I need. I -know- one is a verb and one is a noun. I never remember which is which!

    • shawncita Says:

      Oh no! That’s a hard one…I always remember which is which because I had this hysterical 7th grade English teacher who always groused about “negative side EE-fects” of whatever antics we were performing at the time of her finger-wagging…She always pronounced the EEEEE part as long, and also emphasized that syllable, which was even funnier in the 7th grade than it is today and ensured correct usage of “effect” and “affect” forever. The tricky part for me is when “effect” is used as a verb – something I certainly never saw in the 7th grade!!!
      Thanks for reading!


Leave a Reply

