I’ve missed my books!

September 24, 2009

At cooking group on Saturday, a friend asked a casual question about how often I read in bed. As I answered her, I realized with horror that I almost never read anywhere anymore – a real shock to me, since I’ve always considered myself an avid reader.

My nightstand showed the umistakable evidence, bare but for a Sudoku puzzle book. I hung my head, recalling how the same nightstand used to routinely hold a stack of books three or four high (or higher!), and I recalled the sheer pleasure of climbing under the sheets and settling in with the book of the moment.

I vowed to enjoy my books again. So all week I’ve been working hard to make up for lost bookworm time, what a treat!

Monday: Finished the barely-started Finding My Voice, the autobiography by NPR host Diane Rehm

Tuesday: Mama’s Boy, Preacher’s Son by Kevin Jennings

Today: Blindness (English translation) by Jose Saramago

Good thing Fernando can sleep with the (admittedly-too-wimpy-for-bedtime-reading) reading lamp on – I’ve so enjoyed being lost in the pages until the wee hours every night this week!

3 Responses to “I’ve missed my books!”

  1. dclark1983 Says:

    Don’t bother with the Dan Brown new one “The Lost Symbol”.. Total waste of money…

  2. dclark1983 Says:

    I saw the same thing and laughed! I like his stories, but his writing is a bit off!


Leave a Reply

