Gracias to the mountain beaver

July 13, 2009

Recently, I’ve noticed quite an increase in visitors to this site…This is a surprise, since a.) no one knows about the site; and b.) it isn’t very coherent regarding content so far. I went digging deeper to see if I could figure out what was driving the increase in traffic, and it turns out that the responsible party is this guy:

Mountain Beaver

Mountain Beaver

Since July 5th, there has been a 5,400% increase in traffic for the Mountain Beaver post I shared at the end of May. 5,400%!!! This guy is a veritable rock star, with 124 views in the last couple of weeks.

As for my mysterious visitors, I’m dying of curiosity! Who are you? Where are you? Do you only come here looking for Aplodontia rufa? Or do you actually poke through the rest of the site, too? I invite your comments and salutations!

7 Responses to “Gracias to the mountain beaver”

  1. dclark1983 Says:

    Well, I am an animal lover. I actually own a pet store. I browse the animal category and read posts. I am in Thomson, GA (Redneckville, if you will). That mountain beaver is a cute little fella. I see why it would draw a lot of traffic. Speaking of incoherent for content, you should read my blog. My posts don’t really follow an ebb or flow, just whatever pops into my head. http://dclark1983.wordpress.com

    • shawncita Says:

      Thanks for saying hello! The closest I’ve been to Thomson was I-20 on my way home from NC to Houston back in my university days. Back then. I considered going into business with a friend who ended up opening a pet store specializing in reptiles…I had three savannah monitors, 2 fat-tail geckos, a couple of tokays and a leopard gecko. These days I enjoy the hummingbirds at our feeder, but vicariously enjoy everyone else’s dogs. Go figure!
      I will be delighted to have a look at your blog – I read your recent great post about your recent appendicitis, and even though I cracked up the whole way through, I hope you are feeling back to your old self.
      Cheers from Seattle!

  2. dclark1983 Says:

    For frequent laughs, keep reading. I added one more not long after I commented. The things I get myself into are quite hilarious. We have a Leopard Gecko in our store. He is about 5 in. long now. My son likes to watch him eat crickets.

    • shawncita Says:

      Hilarious! I will keep reading, thanks for sharing!!!
      BTW watching the geckos eat was always my favorite part…although now that I’m a bit more grown, the idea of seeing one of the legs hanging out of the gecko’s mouth somehow makes me feel a bit queasy now!

      Best of luck, and I’ll be glad to follow your blog’s progress!

      S

  3. dclark1983 Says:

    Thank you very much and best of luck to you too!


  4. Thanks for this post (I know I’m a few years late to the party). I was trying to identify a poor soul who died in my neighbor’s pool, and started searching for info on mountain beavers, since that’s what I suspected this guy was. Your pictures are very helpful and I think I’ve identified the deceased. I’ve only seen only other mountain beaver in the area (pulling leaves into a hole in the ground). Even then, I was speculating.

  5. shawncita Says:

    Eeek! Sounds like a grisly discovery, to be sure! Glad the photos were helpful in your search for his closest relations. 🙂


Leave a Reply

