Oatmeal Cookie Experiment (w/ mild injury)

July 7, 2009

Yesterday after dinner I leaned back in my chair and announced that I felt like eating oatmeal cookies…with chocolate chips. F. laughed at me, as he usually does when I come up with a very specific food craving (approx. twice a day or so!).

I got to ruminating, and remembered the bag of Kraft caramels we had in the cupboard left over from some previous reason for needing them. I reasoned caramel would go nicely with oatmeal cookies and chocolate chips.

Oatmeal Caramel Chocolate Chip Cookies

Oatmeal Caramel Chocolate Chip Cookies

This morning, I made F a fancy breakfast (for his first day as a “real” American citizen, since he has his naturalization ceremony later today-woot!). After I ushered him out the door post-feta-roasted red pepper-mushroom-and-onion omelette, I got to work.

Then I realized that the oatmeal cookie recipe called for TWO STICKS of butter. Of course this is a normal amount, but somehow those two sticks of butter suddenly looked soooo menacing, taunting me, hissing “Jussssst think what we’ll do to your hipssss!!!

I panicked. Then I remembered having used applesauce before to replace butter in a recipe. Of course we had no applesauce. No canned pumpkin either, which was my other trick. I DID, however, find a container of yogurt in the fridge and reasoned that it might do the trick in a pinch, so I gave it a shot.

I started out trying to make cookies, but when I took out the first batch, the caramels had melted and run all over the cookie sheet and into each other. In trying to scrape off the majority of the quickly-hardening caramel off the cookie sheet, I even managed to scrape up my knuckles (yes, with cookie detritus. I don’t know how I do it, either).

Owie

Owie

After the cookie sheet attacked me, I decided to dump the rest of the batter into a Pyrex and bake it into bar cookies–all the better to serve with ice cream! We’ll do this tonight to celebrate F’s naturalization–we bought a new “Dreyer’s Slow Churned Red, White, and No More Blues” ice cream to try, I thought it might be perfect for the occasion!

The results:

Oatmeal Caramel Chocolate Chip BAR Cookies

Oatmeal Caramel Chocolate Chip BAR Cookies

The Original Recipe, with my changes:

Quaker’s Vanishing Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

(Converted Into Oatmeal Caramel Chocolate Chip Cookies)

2 1 ¼ sticks margarine or butter, softened (I used butter, 1.25 sticks)

5.3 oz. Trader Joes Fat Free Greek Yogurt

1 cup firmly packed brown sugar (I used 1 cup of turbinado, and ground it down in the food processor)

1/2 cup granulated sugar

2 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla (I used closer to 2 tsp)

1-1/2 cups all-purpose flour (I used one cup flour, ½ cup almond meal)

1 teaspoon baking soda

1 teaspoon ground cinnamon

1/2 teaspoon salt (optional)

3 cups Quaker® Oats (quick or old fashioned, uncooked) (I used Old Fashioned)

1 cup raisins

1 ¼ cups semi sweet chocolate chips

1 cup toasted pecans, coarsely chopped

1 cup Kraft traditional caramels, unwrapped and quartered (about half a bag)

Heat oven to 350°F.

In large bowl, beat margarine and sugars until creamy. Add eggs and vanilla; beat well. Add combined flour, baking soda, cinnamon and salt; mix well. Add oats and raisins; mix well.

Drop dough by rounded tablespoonfuls onto ungreased cookie sheets.

Bake 10 to 12 minutes or until light golden brown. Cool 1 minute on cookie sheets; remove to wire rack. Cool completely. Store tightly covered.

Bar cookies: Bake 30-35 minutes 25 minutes in ungreased 13×9-inch metal baking pan.

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

