Monday’s Gigan-tastic Legumes-UPDATE

July 6, 2009

I bought these beans (anyone know what they are?) in the bulk foods section of Central Market because they were big. “Substantial,” I thought. “Surely a meatless dish made with these ginormous beans will satisfy even the most discerning carnivorous palates.”

So last night I put them on to soak.

When I woke up this morning, this is what I found:

Big Beans

Big Beans

Like I Said...Big Beans

Like I Said...Big Beans

Big!

Really Big!

Whoa.

Dinner suddenly became markedly more abundant! I’ll try and remember to post later once they’re cooked…

UPDATE: Soooo it looks like these are fava beans. What I didn’t know about fava beans is that they have a tough outer shell or skin that must be removed–bean by bean–before cooking the beans. I suppose that the good news about that is that the inner bean does not take long to cook–maybe 10-15 minutes (after soaking the dried whole beans with skins, etc. overnight). The bad news, however, is that there is no shortcut for slicing open the end of each bean and pinching the opposite end to pop out the inner bean. Here’s a look at the beans and their skins:

Fava Beans and Skins

Fava Beans and Skins

Leave a Reply

