Mexican Pasta!

June 22, 2009

I was thrilled to learn today that, in spite of our recent Mexican escape, I was still down 0.2 lbs. when I weighed in this afternoon at Weight Watchers. Woo-hoo!! To celebrate, I enjoyed some extra points for dinner with a new creation that was so tasty I forgot to take a picture of it!!

I’ll make it again and snap it then, but it was way too delicious not to write down (and try!!) before that:

I seasoned a couple of skinless, boneless chicken breasts with:
*onion powder
*garlic powder
*ground cumin
*oregano
*ground aleppo chile
*pinch of kosher salt

I cooked these in my fancy electric skillet (which makes the very best chicken and the most delish potatoes EVER–sans oils or fats!).

While the chicken was cooking, I put 120 grams of pasta on to boil–I used some super-cute multi-colored heart-shaped pasta we purchased recently upon our discovery of Big John’s Pacific Food Importers.

While the pasta was boiling, I whisked together one half-cup Trader Joe’s medium fresh salsa and one half-cup light sour cream, and warmed this creamy yumminess in the microwave until barely warm.

Then I cooked half a cup of frozen green peas and half a cup of frozen roasted corn (TJ again, woot!) in the microwave for 3 minutes with a bit of water.

By this time, the pasta was done, so I dumped the corn and peas into my colander to drain, and dumped out the pasta on top of it so the pasta water would reheat the veggies as it drained. I added the sour cream/salsa mixture to this along with about a scant handful of shredded mozzarella cheese, and mixed it all up.

The by-now-cooked-and-juicy chicken was sliced and served on top of this. SOOOOO delicious!!! Definitely point-worthy.

56 gm. dry pasta=4 points

3.25 oz. skinless/boneless cx. breast=3 points

2 tbsp. light sour cream = 1 point

1/2 oz. mozzarella cheese = 1 point

1/2 cup salsa = 0 points

1/2 cup veggies = 0 points

Total WW points = 9 points

VERY creamy and satisfying, like a very special treat!! 😀

Leave a Reply

